Yoga Off the Mat: (Part 1 of 2)

What are Yamas?

In addition to movement and meditations, Yoga includes lessons “off the mat.” Traditionally, the Yoga virtues are divided into two categories, Yamas (how you relate to the world) and Niyamas (how you relate to yourself). These ideas have been modified and translated into “kid-friendly” terms.

deals with one’s ethical standards and sense of integrity, focusing on our behavior and how we conduct ourselves in life. Yamas are universal practices that relate best to what we know as the Golden Rule, “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.”  Or even better, the Platinum Rule, “ Treat others the way THEY want to be treated.” The five kid-friendly yamas are:

  1. Mindfulness/Peaceful/Gentle/Kind
  2. Truthfulness/Honesty
  3. Integrity/Respect Ownership
  4. Self-control 
  5. Generosity/Sharing/Taking turns

Learn all sorts of useful tips about Yoga for Kids!